ECMP 455 · Learning Project

Dashboard in Excel

It is the time to put together all the skills and knowledge that I have learned over the past few weeks in regards to pivot tables, pivot charts, and slicers. For this, I am going to create a dashboard in excel. Wikipedia says “Dashboards often provide at-a-glance views of KPIs (key performance indicators) relevant to a particular objective or business process e.g. sales, marketing, human resources, or production). In real-world terms, “dashboard” is another name for “progress report” or “report.””

Dashboards are very helpful tools to get an insight of the data when there is just so much to dig into. Through dashboards, we understand the data and make productive use it. The Tingley Advantage describes some of the benefits that dashboard provide:

  • They enable better, smarter, faster decisions.
  • They get everyone on the same page.
  • They create buy-in on what success looks like.
  • They track progress and show improvement.


Photo Credit: cote Flickr via Compfight cc

I am not only applying my learning through the MOOC course that I have been following but some YouTube videos also helped me to create this dashboard. The video was longer than 15 minutes that is why I had to divide it into two parts. Let’s get started to see how I created a dashboard using excel 2016. I hope you all will enjoy to watch and learn from it. I am also open to get feedback to improve in the future. Thank you all!

Dashboard Part 1:

Dashboard Part 2:

One thought on “Dashboard in Excel

Leave a Reply

