ECMP 355 · Learning Project

What an Excitement! Growth in 4 Weeks & Last Post (Part 1)…

Time is flying, It has already been 4 weeks since seeding of my plants. In this post, I will be showing how did my plants do in 4 weeks. I have tried an online Gif animation tool to summarize the individual plant’s growth in four weeks time. In doing so, I am glad that I learned another tool.

Let’s start one by one;

Cabbage:

My cabbage started good but at the end, it started to die. I am thankful to Brad Slepicka, my classmate, for sharing me this link that tells why my plants are leggy or dying. Since it is still cold outside and there is less sunlight in my home, I can’t really do anything except to wait for the summer.

 

Cabbage – Week 1 to Week 4

 

Cauliflower:

As you can see in the Gif, cauliflowers are doing good as compared to cabbage.

 

Cauliflower – Week 1 to Week 4

 

Carom Seed:

These plants started well like cabbage but after 3rd week they became leggy and again probably because of less sunlight.

 

Carom Seed – Week 1 to Week 4

 

Cilantro:

I seeded Cilantro in two compartments. It has the same issue as my most vegetables had. At least I learned how to fix this problem in the future.

 

Cilantro Compartment 1 – Week 1 to Week 4

 

Cilantro Compartment 2 – Week 1 to Week 4

 

Garlic:

I don’t have any clue why only one clove germinated but not the others. I am still hopeful that others will make their way to germinate once I plant them outside.

 

Garlic – Week 1 to Week 4

 

Lettuce:

What I can see, Lettuce seed didn’t do well. These two seeds took 3 weeks to germinate and others didn’t even sprout. This website explains some of the reasons. After reading the aforesaid website, I am not able to figure out what went wrong with my Lettuce seeds. It may be the seed type or sunlight or soil temperature or soil quality or moisture that Lettuce didn’t grow to my expectations.

 

Lettuce – Week 1 to Week 4

 

Mustard, Basil & Flax Seed:

I have these three seeds in one column with separators between them. I chose to show their progress under one heading and in one photo frame.

 

Mustard, Basil & Flax Seed – Week 1 to Week 4

Onion:

Onions didn’t germinate until day 10 which is normal according to this article.

 

Onion – Week 1 to Week 4

Pepper:

Pepper (Jalapeno) seeds are doing good so far. In case you guys are wondering why do I have quite a few compartments of Pepper seeds, It’s because I love Peppers and I use them almost in every curry. Since Peppers are expensive to buy, I decided to take advantage of my project and planted as many as I could. I am thankful to Katia for giving us the opportunity to go for a project of one’s own choice. In my previous post, I have mentioned that the small plant encircled in red, in compartment 1, is pepper or not. In the gif below we can see it’s not pepper for sure, and still, I don’t know to this point what that plant is… (lesson learned is to label plants as soon as possible)

 

Pepper Compartment 1 – Week 1 to Week 4

 

Pepper Compartment 2 – Week 1 to Week 4

 

Pepper Compartment 3 – Week 1 to Week 4

 

Pepper Compartment 4 – Week 1 to Week 4

 

As I mentioned above that we use Pepper in our cooking a lot and after seeing the progress of my pepper, I thought to grow more. For this, what I did is;

Made a funnel from milk jug;

 

 

Filled all bags with potting mix using homemade funnel;

 

 

Pepper (Jalapeno) seeding;

 

My older son wants to help me as usual and I didn’t mind it at all :-).

 

Potato:

I am happy that my potatoes are doing great.

Potato Compartment 1 – Week 1 to Week 4

 

Potato Compartment 2 – Week 1 to Week 4

 

Radish:

It is too early to say if my Radish will stay alive until I transfer them out.

 

Radish – Week 1 to Week 4

 

Tomato:

Tomatoes are the ones that have the most compartments in my little garden. It may not be hard to understand the reason? 🙂

 

Tomato Compartment 1 – Week 1 to Week 4

 

Tomato Compartment 2 – Week 1 to Week 4

 

Tomato Compartment 3 – Week 1 to Week 4

 

Tomato Compartment 4 – Week 1 to Week 4

 

Tomato Compartment 5 – Week 1 to Week 4

 

Watermelon:

Watermelons are doing good so far. I am hoping for them to grow and looking forward to tasting watermelon off my own garden this year.

 

Watermelon – Week 1 to Week 4

 

This is all from photographic (gif) progress of my individual plants.

In part 2, which will also be the summary post for my gardening project, I will add some videos (I also did some work to add subtitles using YouTube editor.) of my garden that I filmed on week 3 (day 21) and week 4 (day 30) and also what future plans do I have…

I am sorry to overload my readers with so much information at first. I think I did a better job this time. Thanks for staying around.

One thought on “What an Excitement! Growth in 4 Weeks & Last Post (Part 1)…

Leave a Reply

