ECMP 355

Privacy + Online = No such thing (Digital Citizenship)

the-definition-of-digital-citizenshipdigital-citizenship

Ignorance is bliss, we all have heard about this. But here I would say, ignorance is darkness.  I had no idea what  the term “digital citizenship” means when I heard about it first time in ecmp355 class. I was in the dark and I was curious to learn more. Now, that I know the ideas and perspectives about it, I am really thankful to be a part of ecmp355 class. After reading so much stuff online about digital-identity, the very first question that came to mind was, “If I don’t know what a digital-citizenship is then what are the obligations on me as a citizen of the online world, moreover, I am not mature enough to live with this identity with dignity then where would I be? Who would I be? and how would I be?” The answer to all my questions was, “I am old enough now to understand what my responsibilities are as part of the online world and there was no such concept of digital-citizenship when I was young and didn’t know better.” So, i’ts good, I am on the safe side now. But what about the kids who are born in digital world. Kids who are seeing technology everywhere around them. They are immature and they don’t know about the world which is around them. How are they going to be good citizens if they are not educated about it? How they are going to live in their online and offline lives if they don’t know how they are expected to live in these roles? How are they going to behave if they don’t know what are the good and the bad behaviors? Hence, the answer to all these questions is, “Awareness and education about their digital identity”. I, being a future educator and a mom, have a responsibility of educating my kids about digital citizenship so that they are well aware of the expectations.

There is so much remarkable stuff online from different writers about digital-citizenship but I am including only some of that in my post today.

Who is a good digital citizen?

A good digital citizen is someone who understands the rights and responsibilities that come with being online and someone who uses technology in a positive way. Keira Lecian presents some great thoughts about it in her presentation on “What does being a good digital citizen mean?”

Three biggest challenges of teaching digital citizenship:

  1. Letting kids learn from their mistakes
  2. Keeping up with changes in technology
  3. Getting on the same page

Jason Ohler describes in Educational Leaderships some main issues of Digital Citizenship that should be addressed in a curriculum.screenshot_1

I really liked the article Ribble’s Nine Elements of Digital Citizenship. I think, if we dive a bit deeper into the Saskatchewan (SK) curriculum, we can find some connections between SK curriculum outcomes and these nine elements of digital citizenship. Being an educator, “Respect, Educate and Protect” should be our motto for every class and it is not difficult to implement because, in a broad spectrum, similar rights, responsibilities and obligations apply to someone being a digital national as of other world.  

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Privacy + Online = No such thing (Digital Citizenship)

  1. Hi Anila, Your post was really interesting. Something that stood out to me was when you mentioned that one of the challenges with digital citizenship is keeping up with the technology. I totally agree! It seems these days that students keep having new technology and I am always behind when it comes to new technology. It is something to keep in mind- as teachers we must keep ourselves informed about the latest technologies!

    Like

Leave a Reply

