ECMP 355 · Learning Project

A Jump into the Wild

Without knowing and making any list I went out this evening to shop supplies and seeds for my garden. I had no idea what was already there in my storage shed from last year and what I needed more. I just picked up following stuff that I could think of any use for my indoor seeding.

whatsapp-image-2017-01-28-at-12-38-46-am-1

 

whatsapp-image-2017-01-28-at-12-38-46-am

I think I will have to make a few garden shopping trips again once I get a chance to dig into my storage shed for left overs from my father in law’s gardening last year.

Following is a blue print of my seeding plan:

Soil-based seeding:

I am planning to divide soil-based seeding into three categories for my serenity and better management of my garden. I made this list of vegetables from Vanessa Beaty‘s blog “25 Foods You Can Re-Grow Yourself from Kitchen Scraps”. The reasons I selected these vegetables are: easy to grow, easily available in my kitchen, and would certainly reduce my grocery budget if I be successful in growing them.

Category A: Garlic, Ginger, Onion, Potato

I will use these vegetables itself to grow them without seeds.

Category B: Tomato, Lettuce, Chilli, Onion, Cauliflower

I will sow seeds of these vegetables indoor first, and then will move them outside once winter gets to its end to get bigger crops out of them by planting them at distances as per individual plant requirement.

Category C: Mint, Cilantro, Parsley, Cabbage, Radish, Eggplant, Spinach, Pepper

These herbs and vegetables will be seeded in a container and then containers will be moved outside when environment will be suitable for them to grow.

Water-based sprouting:

Wheatgrass,  Lentils

 

whatsapp-image-2017-01-28-at-1-46-03-am

 

2 thoughts on “A Jump into the Wild

Leave a Reply

